Sifted Couture

Baking and sweet stuff

Chocolate Covered Pretzels

Pretzels in a Cup

Along with the Cookies in a Jar gift, I am also giving my friends Chocolate Covered Pretzels! I’ve never made these before, so I searched the internet. Normally when I make things I will search high and low to compare recipes and tips from readers. I thought melting chocolate and dipping pretzels would be easy enough that I didn’t need to. I was a little bit wrong.

I think this is the link where I started. Chocolate Pretzels by Robin Miller.

Chocolate Coated Pretzels

Chocolate Covered Pretzels (read my tips)

1 bag Log Pretzels
1 bag each of Chocolate Chips (semi-sweet and white)
Double boiler/Microwave/or 2 saucepans
Chopped Nuts
Sprinkles or whatever garnish you want. Think cookies! coconut! candies!

Melt the chocolate over low heat in a double boiler or 1 1/2 minutes in the microwave.
Dip the pretzels in to the chocolate.
Add garnish.
Place dipped pretzels on wax paper and allow to harden.

Wrap in clear gift bags and tie with a ribbon for gift giving. These are also great in glasses as decor/treats at a party.

Tips! What I learned (some of it the hard way): White chocolate burns and is the hardest to melt correctly. As you can see, I have no white chocolate on my pretzels. I don’t have a double boiler, but 2 saucepans work just fine for this. So does the microwave. Put your wax paper on cookie sheets, so that you can move the drying pretzels around easily. Place them outside to chill (if it is chilly outside, of course). If you don’t have a dipping jar large enough, or just don’t want to transfer the chocolate to one, use a spoon and pour it down the pretzels sides. If you noticed, the recipe from Food Network says over medium heat, both Ghirardelli and Hershey’s bags said to use the lowest heat or simmer.

I wasn’t sure of the consistency of the melted chocolate, and I know it can burn or solidify easily. My pretzels aren’t as smooth as some you may see on the net. You can’t tell with the ones covered in crushed peanuts and sprinkles. However, they all taste good and your friends don’t care! I’m meeting a couple of mine in an hour to give them their gifts! We’re going out for Mexican.

Pretzels Wrapped

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

