Sifted Couture

Baking and sweet stuff

Cookies in a Jar

cookies in a jar

I wanted to give my friends something hand made this Christmas. I really like thoughtful gifts, though I have been known to be gift card giver. Those are nice, too, because the recipient can get what they really want. Anyways, friends started mentioning these gifts in a jar. Actually, Pina Colada Cake in a Jar. Which sounds really delicious. But, for a Christmas gift (even though my friends would love a Pina Colada) I am giving them chocolate cookies in a jar. I searched for several recipes and finally found one that had 99% good reviews. And yes, I tested them and they are yummy! I’m not a nut person so I just changed the chocolate chips/chopped pecans amounts. Also, other recipes that I checked out had 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda/powder. So, I adjusted this recipe to 3/4 teaspoon. One of the complaints (and there was only one about this) was too much baking soda/powder. Someone else mentioned adding one more egg. I didn’t try that.

I found the Ghirardelli Chocolate Chips on sale! And when I was opening my Arm & Hammer Baking Soda box I noticed something on the back. For buying 2 – 1 lb. boxes of these I get a one year free Better Homes & Gardens Magazine subscription! These boxes were $0.67 each and I get a year’s free subscription to the magazine. That is a winner!

I used a funnel to pour the contents in one by one. After packing down each item in the jar I would wipe the side with a paper towel. The pour in the next color. I used wrapping paper and a ribbon to pretty up the jar. And then I printed the ingredients on the back of scrapbooking paper and tied it on. On the card I noted all of the ingredients in case they wanted to make this recipe again. I read that you should use this within 3 weeks or the brown sugar gets super hard. Make sure to tell your recipients that! They will appreciate it.

Original Recipe

Remember I changed a few things, and you can too! I used 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips and 3/4 cups white chocolate chips. Then I topped it off with M&Ms candies. I cut down the baking soda/power to 3/4 teaspoon each.

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup cocoa
3/4 cup white chocolate chips
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
Fill in rest with M&Ms Candies

Directions

Mix all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Using a funnel, pour into a 1 quart wide mouth canning jar. Pack each layer down firmly. Next layer dark brown sugar, white sugar, cocoa, white chocolate chips. semi-sweet chocolate chips, and candies.
Make a recipe card with the following instructions: Chocolate Cookie Mix in a Jar: 1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) 2. Empty cookie mix into large bowl. Thoroughly blend mixture with hands. Mix in 3/4 cup softened butter or margarine, 1 egg, slightly beaten, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Shape into walnut size balls, and place 2 inches apart on a parchment lined baking sheet. 3. Bake for 11 to 13 minutes. Cool 5 minutes on baking sheet, then move to wire racks.

cookies in a jar complete

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

